Ron Wilson~ I like what I am hearing, but can he coach

Talk about a guy who says all the right things, Ron Wilson continues to impress the hell out of me. Lance (I am still on the Leaf beat) Hornby has in interesting post up on the buds as training camps approaches.  Get a load of these gems:

“I won’t allow the sideshow that sometimes occurs here with (players getting) different messages.They read and hear a lot of things, but we’re the people in the trenches with them.”

“I don’t want separate agendas, like ‘I’m going to get 20 goals’. If you do things right, the team wins and your personal goals will be met.”

“This group is starving for direction. They don’t want to be (failures).”

‘Different messages’ includes outside influences, such as the media and expectations that certain players must reach personal targets according to Wilson.

None of this is rocket science folks, it’s just plain common sense; stuff that has evaded the ACC for a long, long time and it’s very refreshing.  If he can coach half as well as he speaks, then the proper foundation is going to be laid.

Lastly, Wilson has created in his mind an “energy line: Centred by Alex Steen, flanked by Niklas Hagman on the left and Nikolai Kulemin on the right.  Interesting to say the least…

Link is here

6 responses to “Ron Wilson~ I like what I am hearing, but can he coach

  1. I like Steen at centre vs. wing but didn’t expect him centering an energy line…interesting. If Steen moves to centre…who loses their spot up the middle (and assuming Mats does not return)? Of the following, who does not start at centre this year:

    Antropov
    Stajan
    Gabrovski
    Moore

  2. Ohhhh Steen Kulemin Hagman.

    I likey.

  3. 1st) Blake – Antropov- Ponikarovsky
    2nd) Hagman – Steen – Kulemin
    3rd) Bell – Stajan – Mayers

    I think the top 3 lines are a pretty safe bet so far from what I’ve been reading/hearing. I haven’t heard a peep about Tlusty so I don’t know if he cracks top 3 lines or not…

    4th) Hollweg/Newbury – Grabovski/Moore – Deveraux/Tlusty

    Who knows what pans out on the 4th line though…pre-season should help define it somewhat.

    I shudder to think of our 1st line matching up against any of the other 29 NHL teams’ first lines….yikes! Let’s just hope our defence can hold the fort and give us a chance to win every night.

    Less than 4 days till our 1st pre-season game boys!!! :)

  4. Judging by what Dreger said it’ll look something like this:

    Antro – Grabovski – Poni

    That was confirmed as hopefully being the plan. The two centres are going to be set up as well.
    Hagman – Steen – Kulemin
    Tlusty – Stajan – Mayers
    Hollweg – Moore – Devereaux

    I think that would be pretty close to what Wilson has in mind from Dreger’s report.

  5. PPP – But what about Mark Bell and Jason Blake?

    I mean it would be a bit shocking if both of them where left off the starting rosters wouldn’t it? I thought Wilson might have a soft spot for Bell, and well Blake is making 4 Mill. so they might as well have bought him out if they weren’t going to play him.

    Just my 2 cents, I guess we’ll find out soon enough.

  6. blake’s def in the lineup. now that mats is gone, blake was 2nd on the team in scoring from forwards (behind antro)

Leave a Reply

