The New HNIC Theme and What Would You do?

Here is it folks the new TSN version of the hockey night in Canada theme song, which friends (that I still have) can attest was the song in which Mrs. TSM and I entered into our wedding with.

To be honest, I don’t notice much of a change…

The press asked MLSE chariman this am, if he could buy a Cup this year in exchange for 5 years of a lousy performance thereafter (sorry I am still a lawyer) would he do it?

“We want to be absolutely competitive, super competitive each and every year. We want to see a consistently strong winning team over the long term. If it takes two or three years to rebuild this team, let that happen, to know that it’s going to be a strong contending team for 10, 15 years. It would be an interesting survey. If someone would say we would be we could win a Stanley Cup one year and go from first to worst and stay worst for a long period of time, would they actually take that? Or to be always be like a Detroit Red Wings, competing every single year?”

Bang on…I don’t want a one off year to be followed by years of mediocrity again! JFJ built a team for that and it didn’t work. There are no guarantees. How many times in the past did we hear, the leafs window to win is only so big, they have to try to win now, guys like roberts, sundin, nieuendyk, belfour were getting older so we should take out shot…. This team needs to bottom out and build up again. It is refreshing to hear ownership say it. The media, of course will turn this into they don’t want to win:

“Tanenbaum dropped by Leaf practice and said the public perception the billion-dollar company doesn’t care about winning is “B.S.” He says the Leafs rebuilding program is on track.”

I believe!!

Interesting post by Damien today in his blog:

“So Mats Sundin thinks the Maple Leafs will be “exciting” this season.
So exciting he’d rather watch from Sweden. I know, I know, what else is the guy gonna say?”

Exactly, no need to even comment on it…

“Strangely, some have argued that since the Leafs have depth and experience on defence, they may be well-suited to play this type of game. Depth and experience? Really? This is the same chatter we heard last fall when some suggested the Leafs had such depth on defence that they should trade some of it away to help in other areas.Now we’re hearing it again. Folks, it’s about more than just having lots of names.”

Ummmmmm, quick question, which of you fans have been saying this? That is what I thought. The “some folks” are his media brothers and sisters. Not one fan I know has made these moronic comments.

“It might be the weakest defence corps in the entire league. Certainly one of the weakest five. To use Ron Wilson’s methodology, figure out how many of Toronto’s defencemen could crack the lineup of the elite teams in the league, and you have a measure of how strong the Leafs really are at that position.”

Ok, so….who is saying differently??? Not I or you right?

My favorite part of this article though is in the comments:

“If you live in Toronto, and you follow hockey, but you don’t see this set of circumstances as being positive or exciting, well then you’re just a sad, morose person who can’t be encouraged about anything. Kinda like last year’s team. See the difference? Excited yet?

Posted by: general borschevsky ”

Keep it up General!

Enjoy your Thursday afternoon.

P.S. for those that ask, NO… I AM NOT AM 640’s Jonas Siegel…. Our names sound a lot a like, but he is not I….

10 responses to “The New HNIC Theme and What Would You do?

  1. I just did a post about Tanenbaum’s quote.

    Granted, it’s a 100% hypothetical since there’s nothing you could ever do to guarantee a Cup. But if you somehow could, then you take it. Period. It’s not even a hard question.

    If he really thinks fans would prefer five solid years to one Cup, he’s even further out of touch than we thought.

  2. torontosportsmedia

    it’s the fun part about a hypothetical right?

    remember, if the queen had balls she’d be king!

  3. Hahaha. Hey wow, Damien printed my comment and then somebody else noticed! Great post TSM. Personally I’d take ONE CUP NOW but only if it was guaranteed (and that’s a complete fantasy), but I get the point, too, you can’t just smash and grab your way to prosperity. It takes time and a good plan. However, it’s amazing how fast having good people on top makes a difference.

  4. I think I am to blame for Damien’s “people are saying that their defense is deep” thing.

    I left a comment on his post yesterday comparing Fletcher’s previous tour with the Leafs with today.

    I later turned it into a post on my own blog because was so damn impressed with my razor sharp logic.

    I was saying that Fletcher is following the same pattern as last time. Stingy coach; solid goalie; solid but unspectacular defense and the only thing left was to trade this years number one pick for a current star (like Steve Nash).

    So you can pin the moron badge on me but I still think that this years defense core will be better than people think. They won’t however be flashy offensive defensemen (although I love Stralman’s shot from the point) .

    They will be more like Rouse; Gill and Maccoun.
    I am tempted to say and also Lefebvre but I don’t think any of them compare to Sylvain “Down Goes Brown” Lefebvre.

    But then again Rob Ramage and Dave Ellet are no Tomas Kaberle either.

  5. Pingback: The Meatriarchy » Blog Archive » Is Cliff Fletcher really committed to a re-build?

  6. Oh and PPP’s comment in that thread was brilliant as well.

  7. torontosportsmedia

    ROFL….classic. I bet you a sick pack it isn’t you. I highly doubt Damien ever reads his own blog let alone the comments on it! Rest assured you aren’t the Moron!

  8. Yeah I was thinking that as well – no way this guy reads blogs or even the comments on his own blog.

  9. torontosportsmedia

    nice typo in my last comment, I think I had too many 6 packs before calling it a “sick” pack!

    Maybe I am the moron

  10. I thought is was a Freudian slip.

Leave a Reply

