I Guess I Am A Liar Right Kevin- Mats Stay Away Please!

I tell it you, I tell it to freinds all the time…

” I do not want Mats Sundin back.” Hate me for it, call me names, whatever, I do not want him back on this team. It is not because he is european, it’s not because i don’t think he is a great player. I don’t want him back. If I were at the first game, I wouldn’t give him a standing ovation. I don’t want him back.

If that, Kevin makes me a liar, so be it…..

“Gibson: “Oh he would get a standing ovation. No question. You show me a Leafs fan that does not want Mats Sundin back, and I’ll show you a liar. How does this guy not help your team? I am sick and tired of the Tavares talk. There’s no guarantee that you’ll get the #1 or #2 pick. I mean has anyone seen Atlanta or the Islanders this year?”

If Sundin comes back, he is a liar. He made it clear, and got a ton of respect for it, when he said he can’t be a rental player. He has to be there from training camp on. At the time I called bullshit. However, I gave him the benefit of the doubt. I still give him that. The minute he steps on the ice, he becomes a fraud. The reality is he didn’t have to wave his no trade clause. The reality is he didn’t have to give a reason. He could have stood up and said, I am not waiving it because i earned that right. I could have lived with that. To stand up and look all teary eyed into the camera and spew on about not believing that going somewhere midway through the season is right only to do that yourself….sorry man, I have no time for you….

There is no upside for him coming to the Leafs and it has nothing to do with Tavares. I think Ron Wilson is trying to change the culture of the team. Sundin returning means that change will stop. It will be his room again and his team. Any progress in the character department COULD be lost. Mat’s is a great player. Let him go chase a cup elsewhere. Anywhere he goes with the exception of Ottawa and I would cheer for him. If he goes to the Rangers and they come to the ACC I would support him in Ranger Blue. I don’t want him on the Leafs. That ship has sailed, that era is over. Come back when we put your name on the rafters.

By the way:

don’t forget to sign the petition at http://www.firehowardberger.com
join the facebook group
follow on twitter

you can read about Kevin here….

10 responses to “I Guess I Am A Liar Right Kevin- Mats Stay Away Please!

  1. Wait a second… that… that’s eyebeleaf’s music!

    (cue swedish yodelling…)

  2. I would actually love to see him win a cup in Ottawa….I would love to say “so you needed an x-Leaf to win a cup…nice” to my friends in Ottawa….it would totally take the sting out of them winning.

  3. @ DGB: Hilarious, bro. Stay bitter. I enjoy it.

  4. And TSM, I take it you’ve never had a change of heart, or changed your mind, in your life. You’d be the first, my good man.

    Actually, you’d the be second. DGB is clearly the first.

  5. torontosportsmedia

    Eye…. I don’t get paid to do what he does. I am not (aren’t you lucky Happy Howie) a public figure, so what I do is irrelevant.

    What he had to say about the deadline is immaterial (despite my post)…Reality is I don’t want him back simply because that chapter has closed. Does that make me a “liar”????

  6. You can not want him back for what ever reasons you like, but don’t tell me you’re pissed off because he changed his mind.

    He played out his contract to the Leafs. He didn’t hold us hostage at any point. He did what you and I would have both done. If he wants to go elsewhere, that’s his right.

    I’m just sick of guys like DGB complaining about him not waiving that NMC. He didn’t have to. And he didn’t. And good for him.

  7. torontosportsmedia

    Eye…I have no issue with him not waiving his nmc, in the same way the others wouldn’t.

    I never said I was pissed off, I don’t care enough about him to get pissed off. I don’t think he should have said anything at the deadline, least of which that bs about being with a team the whole year…

    He owed tml nothing, the same way they owe him nothing.

  8. But hold on here. If someone states the reason for (not) doing X is Y but yet you do Y after all, what does that say about you other than a being a hypocrite. For that I have to say if someone wants to have a beef over the Sundin saga, then they do have a point.

    I think as part of what made Sundin have his NMC/NTC is the fact that he earned it in his years of service. Now having said that, if the organization informs you of drastic changes that you don’t fit into and you still don’t wave, that’s ok I guess although knowing such a fact and seeing changes before you makes me wonder what his rational was and now that it is 100% clear that both parties are moving on makes me feel queer about the whole issue.

  9. torontosportsmedia

    He can change his mind, it’s his right. That doesn’t mean that he isn’t a hypocrite.

    I am ok as long as both parties are clear that they are both moving on, if he still wants to come back here then isn’t it clear that he hasn’t moved on?

    Bottom line is, the article accused anyone who didn’t want Mats back of being a liar. I raise my hand and say I don’t want him back, so I am not sure what I am lying about.

  10. Is it not possible that if Mats comes back maybe, just maybe the team keeps the same focus, the same effort (except maybe the last couple games) that we have come to enjoy so much in this early season?

    What if it was really more due to guys like Tucker (who I can see is up to his old tricks again in Colorado) and McCabe and some of the other useless players since moved (Kilger, Belak, Wellwood, Bell, Raycroft etc.) that also caused our team to suck ass.

    What if Sundin comes back and the guys keep going in the right direction? What if he really steps up to be that leader again for the younger guys (who always seem to feed off of him).

    Anyways, I know that’s a lot of what if’s but my point is I see both sides to the possibilities and if he comes back and the Leafs continue to improve isn’t it worth a chance?

    Has Stajan, Steen, Antropov, Kaberle, Kubina or anyone really for that matter really looked at all like a potential captain at any point so far this season? I know it’s hard to judge from the sidelines so far but no Leaf players have sayed anything about who it should be and I haven’t heard a word in any article if we are getting any close to naming a team captain either.

    So do we keep going all season without a captain just because we don’t want Sundin back?

    I don’t know, I think the team could have used him in a few of our games already this season…maybe would have turned a few of those OT losses into the win column.

Leave a Reply

