In Response to Football Barbie

So I spent some time very early this am writing a blog post in response to Steve Simmon’s gibberish in today’s Sun. I was not entirely surprised to not get a ton of activity on the post, as for the most part if it isn’t leafs or hockey, well, that’s just the way it is. I was pleased and confused to see the following comment posted in response to my post:

“Dear NFL people, please leave the Bills in Buffalo and as far away from Toronto as possible!”

This was signed Barbie.

My first reaction was that this had to be from someone in Buffalo. I wrote the reply below to the aforementioned Barbie from Buffalo. Only one problem, Barbie from Buffalo isn’t from Buffalo, it’s Barbie from Canada. A quick look at her blog tells us or at least me, that she is an avid football fan. I am more surprised at her comments given her strong affinity for the game. In any event, I thank you for writing Barbie, and for those of you who may care, here is my response to Barbie who should be from Buffalo 🙂 :

*

Hey Barbie:

Thanks for your note. 2 things I think you need to know. First, whom, are these NFL people you are writing to? I can tell you, without question that I am not them. I am surprised that you are addressing this issue to the NFL people though. Whom do you think took this game to Toronto? It wasn’t the city of Toronto or the NFL, it was the owner of the Buffalo Bills and their owner (or at least his wallet.)

Secondly, and perhaps most importantly let’s make something clear. From a fan standpoint, very few out there would be happier if the NFL were to come to Toronto then I would be. Having said that, I don’t really want a team from another city. While I realize that we may be forced to take a pre-existing franchise, I, like many others would much prefer an expansion franchise as opposed to a franchise that is currently playing in another city.

So, if by NFL people you mean us here to the North, you are picking the wrong enemy. We want a team, not your team. If you want your team to stay as your team, keep buying as much Bills gear as you can and as many tickets as you can.

I would be remiss to say that given your Bills play of late, including their performance yesterday….Please keep your Bills as far away from Toronto as possible…we have enough with losing franchises thank you!

16 responses to “In Response to Football Barbie

  1. Haha I got a post written just for me! Anyway, the NFL people I was referring to was a generalization of anyone affliated with the NFL.

    And I’m not from Buffalo. I live just down the QEW from Toronto.

    I’m a huge NFL fan but I don’t want to see it in Canada. We’ve got the CFL and even though I’m not a CFL fan, I think Canada should protect that.

    I do totally agree with you that Toronto doesn’t need another losing franchise. The Leafs, Jays, and Raptors are painful enough.

    And lastly, the Argos only average 30,000 a game when the Rogers Centre holds over 50,000. That’s not a very good market to bring a football team to.

  2. Oh yeah one more thing: I’m not a Bills fan.

  3. hmmm,I wonder if Barbie picketed Starbucks when they came and scooped The Second Cup drinkers………….Argos 30 grand a game? in their dreams

    • torontosportsmedia

      I hope Barbie reads Steve Simmons today. She also, on her facebook page wrote that she “pissed me off enough to write a blog post about her”. Did I sound pissed in my post? Didn’t think so.

    • torontosportsmedia

      and as if that defines the Toronto football market

  4. Oh yeah,one more thing,……….was Barbie the person who draped themselves across the driveway of the Crispy Creme that threatened our national treasure Tim Horton’s?…….teams lose their appeal to me when they become a charity or duty

    • torontosportsmedia

      I am not sure what happened to the argos or the fact that I used to follow them. I remember going to games as a kid. Following Hollaway, Barnes, and the kicker Hank Illisac. From my perspective, and I will post about this later, the Argos and the CFL need to do everything they can to get to the young kids. Forget about the 18-35ers and go from the 6-18 ers. My son has been to 2 argo games and couldn’t care less.

  5. I was worried my sarcasm was a tad over the edge……I was raised an Argo fan,I attended the first game Thiesman and Barton ever played,I sat weekly amongst 50,00o fans at the old grandstand.I’m not sure when they dropped to 2nd tier in my perspective,but going back to the classic “A” helmet would be a welcome move.I still remember sitting on the carpet arms crossed watching my beloved Argo Leon McQuay fumble away the Grey Cup back in 71.I’ve also tried to help promote the Argos,but that dog don’t hunt anymore

  6. 1. Barbie drinks Starbucks and Second Cup…but comparing coffee to football doesn’t work very well.

    2. I got the 30,000 from the Argos website. I wouldn’t just pull numbers out of thin air.

    • torontosportsmedia

      Re: #1, what about Tim’s or Timothy’s?
      Re:#2, there is a big difference between tickets sold/given away vs butts in seats.

  7. Yes Barbie,and Eggbert wouldn’t mind the option to attend both CFL and NFL games,….you see where I’m going

    was there outrage when the Blue Jays trumped the intercounty Maple Leafs? or when Toronto FC forced the Toronto Lynx to fold?

    The NFL may not be right for Toronto,but protectionism has never been at issue in the past

    • torontosportsmedia

      Wow, I love folks talking about themselves in the 3rd person. Survival of the fittest just like the North American auto industry, at least that is what TSM says 😉

  8. “Wow, I love folks talking about themselves in the 3rd person.”

    Eggbert does too,he learned it from Jimmy 😉

  9. A little levity,I love these guys

  10. torontosportsmedia

    Jimmy likes to workout 🙂

  11. apparently so 😉

Leave a Reply

